Home Made Granola

I have always wanted to make my own granola. I know, I know, I live on the edge…

Everyone always says making your own granola is so much better for you because you control exactly what goes into it. It also means I can put in the things I actually like, rather than force down the store bought ones that I don’t really enjoy.

I saw this recipe in my Deliciously Ella book and modified it a little to my tastes. I like to have it with fruit compote and yoghurt for breakfast. It’s gluten free, low in sugar and super healthy. This recipe makes enough portions to enjoy it everyday for a week, so I like to make a fresh batch every sunday. 

Ingredients

2 mugs of oats- I used large oats rather than fine porridge oats

1 mug pecans

1/2 mug sunflower seeds

1/2 mug rasins

3 tbsp chai seeds

3 tbsp maple syrup

3 tbsp coconut oil

1 tsp cinnamon

Method

Preheat the oven to 180 degrees

Put the pecans in a food processor and blitz for about 30 seconds so they’re broken down into smaller pieces. 

Mix with the oats and sunflower seeds

In a pan, heat up the coconut oil, maple syrup and cinnamon so they’re all combined

Pour over the oats mix and stir it all up so everything is coatedGranola

Tip the mixture onto baking tray and bake in the oven for 15-20 mins, stirring occasionally to make sure it bakes evenly.

Remove from the oven, allow to cool and stir in the raisins and chai seeds

And that’s it! Store in an airtight container and enjoy!

xoxo

Leave a Reply

