Review: Maybelline Eyeliners

Another weekend has flown by and as always, it was filled with plenty of shopping – my poor debit card!

This weekend, I bought not one, not two, but THREE Maybelline eyeliners (it was 3 for 2 in Superdrug, I couldn’t resist!)

I went out looking to buy a new gel eyeliner. I’ve been using the Benefit They’re Real Push Up gel eyeliner since October and as I haven’t been 100% impressed with it I didn’t really want to spend another £18 replacing it. I did really like that it was a pen though, and not an pot and brush situation so this is what I was looking for when I went to the stores.

I wasn’t having much look until I reached the Maybelline section and saw their Lasting Drama Gel Pen Black Excess, £8.99. It has the same twist up feature as the Benefit one and a similar tip. And for £8.99, I thought I’d give it a go.

Maybelline lasting drama gel eyeliner pen

One of the reasons I didn’t like the Benefit eyeliner is that you’d have to twist it for ages before any of the gel came out and then the next time you went to use it, loads had come out of the tip that you then had to throw away – such a waste!

So far, the Maybelline pen doesn’t have this problem. After a few clicks, more comes out and there isn’t loads pouring out of the top the next day. The gel also goes on really smoothly and is very black which I love.

The only thing I am not liking is that it does imprint on my upper lid which the Benefit eyeliner never did. I want cat eye, not panda eye thank you!

My other eyeliners were both the Master Drama Chromatic pencils in purple light  and turquoise vibe. I’ve been wanting a colour eye liner for ages as I always wear black and felt it was time to shake things up. These colours are so vibrant, very pigmented and glide on very easily.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

I wore the purple eyeliner to work on Friday night and went to check how it was holding up after a few hours, expecting the colour to have faded and/or imprinted over my eyelid.

Instead I was pleasantly surprised. Not only was the colour looking as fresh as when I had applied it but there was also no imprinting of smudging in sight. 6 hours later it was still looking great. Needless to say I am now a little bit in love with these eyeliners and can’t wait to try out the aqua colour next.

xoxo

3 comments

  1. Ah the Master Drama Chromatic Khols look amazing! I will have to keep an eye out for these, really want to try them now, and great to know the last as well!
    Great review!

    MadeFromBeauty.co.uk

Leave a Reply

