My first week in Australia!

G’day from Sydney! How are you all? I feel like I am in wonderland right now thanks to crazy jet lag and the none stop activities. I am slowly starting to feel normal again though and on this rainy Sunday afternoon, I have finally manged to find a spare hour to find time to sit down and write about my whirlwind week!

So, what’s been happening? For those who don’t know, I am doing a working/holiday adventure for a whole year in Australia. I came alone but went on a group flight organised by a company called Bunac. I am so glad I paid the extra money as I’ve already made so many amazing friends! I arrived in Sydney on Monday after a strange few days in Hong Kong and settled into the amazing Wake Up! Hostel near Central Station. It’s winter in Sydney right now, which is basically summer in the UK, meaning it’s perfect for exploring our new surroundings. We had a whole week of activities planned which has been great.

On Tuesday we had a buffet lunch at the Sydney Tour revolving restaurant which gives you 360 views of the whole city whilst enjoying some amazing food.

Wednesday was an orientation talk about finding jobs and how to travel around Sydney, setting up bank accounts and getting Australian numbers, and in the afternoon, having a paddle boarding lesson in Rosewood bay which was honestly amazing! I think I could become a paddle boarding goddess! We got the ferry back to Circular Quay and caught a beautiful sunset behind the Harbour Bridge.

Thursday has been incredible. We were collected very early in the morning and driven two hours west of Sydney to the Blue Mountains. This is a national park the size of Switzerland and simply breathtaking. We hiked through the rain forest and honestly, the pictures will not do this place justice. If you ever get the chance, you have to go!

Friday was a beautiful sunny day. We did the coastal Coogee to Bondi beach walk before having a BBQ on the world famous Bondi Beach – amazing!!

Saturday was a chill day and it was back to Bondi to relax in the sunshine before enjoying some of the best pizza I’ve ever had.

Next week I am off to Surf camp and then it’s time to face reality and get job hunting. But don’t worry, there will plenty of Aussie adventures to keep you updated with as well as plenty of fashion and beauty posts too!

Stay tuned!

xoxo

4 comments

  1. Sounds like the perfect first week πŸ™‚
    Can’t wait for spring and more beautiful weather. Will you be based in Sydney the whole time?

Leave a Reply

